Rooms allow you to message and chat with multiple people at the same time, while messages are one on one. Remember, our messaging is persistent, so the other users (for Rooms) or user (for one on one messaging) don’t have to be online to be able to access the message at a later date. Rooms will show typing indicators, and when a message was posted, but will not show read receipts.
Chat rooms can have a lot of activity, so unlike one on one messages, Biba doesn’t send an alert every time there’s new activity. If you need to need to make sure one or more of the room members see a post, you can use @mention to alert them that there’s something that needs their attention.